Skip to Content

Montana VA Loans

Whether you receive PCS orders to relocate to Montana or are already a resident, purchasing a home can be a great financial move. Using a VA loan in Montana has many benefits for seasoned and first-time homebuyers alike.

Published on January 7, 2021

With the average listing price of a home in Montana landing at $719,653, the VA loan’s signature $0-money-down benefit is a considerable advantage for Montana homebuyers.

See also: VA Loan Options for Other States

How to get a VA Loan in Montana

VA loans are made by private lenders and guaranteed by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Because private lenders make the loans and not the VA, you need to find a lender licensed in the state you plan to purchase or refinance.

For example, if you're purchasing a home in Billings, MT, you'll need to find a lender licensed in Montana to do the loan.

Our Lender
Veterans United Home Loans is a VA approved lender; Mortgage Research Center, LLC – NMLS #1907 ( Not affiliated with the Dept. of Veterans Affairs or any government agency. Not available in NV or NY. 1400 Veterans United Dr., Columbia, MO 65203. Equal Housing Lender

Other Considerations for Getting a VA Loan in Montana

VA borrowers in Montana should also consider the cost and impact of VA loan limits and property taxes when making their home purchase.

Montana VA Loan Limits

As of January 1, 2020, VA borrowers in Montana with their full VA loan entitlement are not restricted by VA loan limits. This means you can borrow as much as a lender is willing to lend without needing a down payment.

However, veterans without their full VA loan entitlement are still bound to Montana’s VA loan limits.

As of Jan 1, 2020, VA loan limits for all counties in Montana are $548,250.

Property Taxes in Montana

Another consideration for VA buyers in Montana is property taxes. For certain VA buyers, there are exemptions.

You may be eligible for a property tax exemption in Montana if you are a veteran that is 100 percent disabled as a result of service. The Montana Department of Revenue determines the exemption amount based on income and marital status.

If you are required to pay property tax in Montana, the American Community Survey by the U.S. Census Bureau estimates you may pay the following in each county:

County Property Tax Rate
Beaverhead 0.78%
Big Horn 0.92%
Blaine 1.60%
Broadwater 0.71%
Carbon 0.61%
Carter 0.70%
Cascade 0.93%
Chouteau 0.92%
Custer 0.99%
Daniels 1.18%
Dawson 0.93%
Deer Lodge 1.12%
Fallon 0.49%
Fergus 0.90%
Flathead 0.81%
Gallatin 0.82%
Garfield 0.87%
Glacier 1.03%
Golden Valley 0.60%
Granite 0.73%
Hill 1.19%
Jefferson 0.64%
Judith Basin 0.58%
Lake 0.76%
Lewis and Clark 0.96%
Liberty 1.08%
Lincoln 0.73%
Madison 0.83%
McCone 0.54%
Meagher 0.71%
Mineral 0.82%
Missoula 0.99%
Musselshell 0.61%
Park 0.77%
Petroleum 0.73%
Phillips 0.96%
Pondera 0.99%
Powder River 0.82%
Powell 0.93%
Prairie 1.08%
Ravalli 0.65%
Richland 0.55%
Roosevelt 0.83%
Rosebud 0.61%
Sanders 0.62%
Sheridan 0.67%
Silver Bow 1.08%
Stillwater 0.63%
Sweet Grass 0.62%
Teton 0.89%
Toole 0.96%
Treasure 0.89%
Valley 0.92%
Wheatland 0.76%
Wibaux 0.60%
Yellowstone 0.89%

How VA Loans Work in Montana

View the graphic below to learn more about how VA loans work in Montana.

How Montana VA Loans work How Montana VA Loans work How Montana VA Loans work