Skip to Content

Kansas VA Loans

Deciding to purchase a house in Kansas is a huge financial decision, but with the unique benefits provided by the VA loan, your dream of homeownership just got that much easier.

Published on January 7, 2021

With the average listing price of a home in Kansas landing at $298,430 the VA loan’s signature $0-money-down benefit is a considerable advantage for Kansas homebuyers.

See also: VA Loan Options for Other States

How to get a VA Loan in Kansas

VA loans are made by private lenders and guaranteed by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Because private lenders make the loans and not the VA, you need to find a lender licensed in the state you plan to purchase or refinance.

For example, if you're purchasing a home in Topeka, KS, you'll need to find a lender licensed in Kansas to do the loan.

Our Lender
Veterans United Home Loans is a VA approved lender; Mortgage Research Center, LLC – NMLS #1907 ( Not affiliated with the Dept. of Veterans Affairs or any government agency. Not available in NV or NY. 1400 Veterans United Dr., Columbia, MO 65203. Equal Housing Lender

Other Considerations for Getting a VA Loan in Kansas

VA borrowers in Kansas should also consider the cost and impact of VA loan limits and property taxes when making their home purchase.

Kansas VA Loan Limits

As of January 1, 2020, VA borrowers in Kansas with their full VA loan entitlement are not restricted by VA loan limits. This means you can borrow as much as a lender is willing to lend without needing a down payment.

However, veterans without their full VA loan entitlement are still bound to Kansas’s VA loan limits.

As of Jan 1, 2021, VA loan limits for all counties in Kansas are $548,250.

Property Taxes in Kansas

Another consideration for VA buyers in Kansas is property taxes. For certain VA buyers, there are exemptions.

You may be eligible for a property tax exemption in Kansas if you meet one of the following conditions:

  • If you are a veteran who is 50% or more disabled as a result of service, you or a qualifying family member may receive a property tax refund of your primary residence.

If you are required to pay property tax in Kansas, the American Community Survey by the U.S. Census Bureau estimates you may pay the following in each county:

County Property Tax Rate
Allen County 1.65%
Anderson County 1.81%
Atchison County 1.64%
Barber County 1.53%
Barton County 1.76%
Bourbon County 1.63%
Brown County 1.30%
Butler County 1.62%
Chase County 1.56%
Chautauqua County 1.78%
Cherokee County 1.34%
Cheyenne County 1.54%
Clark County 1.68%
Clay County 1.73%
Cloud County 1.86%
Coffey County 1.12%
Comanche County 1.29%
Cowley County 1.69%
Crawford County 1.44%
Decatur County 1.69%
Dickinson County 1.49%
Doniphan County 1.37%
Douglas County 1.37%
Edwards County 1.74%
Elk County 1.95%
Ellis County 1.21%
Ellsworth County 1.58%
Finney County 1.48%
Ford County 1.60%
Franklin County 1.53%
Geary County 1.76%
Gove County 1.60%
Graham County 1.82%
Grant County 1.16%
Gray County 1.38%
Greeley County 1.88%
Greenwood County 1.66%
Hamilton County 1.65%
Harper County 1.87%
Harvey County 1.56%
Haskell County 1.56%
Hodgeman County 1.83%
Jackson County 1.46%
Jefferson County 1.49%
Jewell County 1.78%
Johnson County 1.24%
Kearny County 1.31%
Kingman County 1.65%
Kiowa County 1.56%
Labette County 1.88%
Lane County 1.62%
Leavenworth County 1.33%
Lincoln County 1.80%
Linn County 1.29%
Logan County 1.61%
Lyon County 1.59%
McPherson County 1.36%
Marion County 1.84%
Marshall County 1.46%
Meade County 1.38%
Miami County 1.30%
Mitchell County 1.76%
Montgomery County 1.75%
Morris County 1.70%
Morton County 1.53%
Nemaha County 1.25%
Neosho County 1.63%
Ness County 1.70%
Norton County 1.72%
Osage County 1.62%
Osborne County 1.89%
Ottawa County 1.87%
Pawnee County 1.84%
Phillips County 1.57%
Pottawatomie County 1.09%
Pratt County 1.72%
Rawlins County 1.48%
Reno County 1.78%
Republic County 1.94%
Rice County 1.69%
Riley County 1.44%
Rooks County 1.68%
Rush County 1.81%
Russell County 1.65%
Saline County 1.37%
Scott County 1.52%
Sedgwick County 1.30%
Seward County 1.75%
Shawnee County 1.60%
Sheridan County 1.59%
Sherman County 1.72%
Smith County 2.11%
Stafford County 1.73%
Stanton County 2.09%
Stevens County 1.68%
Sumner County 1.69%
Thomas County 1.56%
Trego County 1.76%
Wabaunsee County 1.45%
Wallace County 1.60%
Washington County 1.71%
Wichita County 1.93%
Wilson County 1.66%
Woodson County 2.07%
Wyandotte County 1.83%

How VA Loans Work in Kansas

View the graphic below to learn more about how VA loans work in Kansas.

How Kansas VA Loans work How Kansas VA Loans work How Kansas VA Loans work